The EEF currently has nine trustees, nominated by the founding partners.

Sir Peter Lampl (Chairman)

Peter Lampl is acknowledged to be the UK’s leading educational philanthropist, having invested £35 million and devoted the last 16 years to educational philanthropy. Peter is the founder and chairman of the Sutton Trust which aims to improve social mobility through education. The Trust has funded over 100 research studies in the areas of social mobility and education but it is primarily a 'do tank'. The Trust has initiated and supported a wide range of projects, from early years, through primary and secondary schooling and access to higher education and the professions. The most promising of these have been carefully evaluated and as appropriate scaled up with Government or private funding. Before establishing the Sutton Trust, Peter was the founder and chairman of the Sutton Company, a Private Equity firm with offices in New York, London and Munich and became one of the 200 wealthiest people in the UK. He holds Masters degrees from Oxford University and the London Business School.

Naomi Eisenstadt

Naomi is Deputy Chair of the Poverty and Inequality Commission for Scotland and has had recent fellowships at the University of Oxford and LSE. In 1999 Naomi became the first director of the Department for Education’s Sure Start Unit. In early 2006, she was the Secretary of State’s Chief Adviser on Children’s Services before taking over as director of the Social Exclusion Task Force in the Cabinet Office. From 2015-17 Naomi was the independent adviser on poverty and inequality to the First Minister of Scotland.

Louis G. Elson

Louis G. Elson is Deputy Chairman of Impetus, having served as Chairman of Impetus Trust, and is the Managing Partner of Palamon Capital Partners, a private equity firm he co-founded in 1999. He has been active in European private equity for almost two decades. He serves on the Research Advisory Board of the British Venture Capital Association, the Development Board of The Prince’s Trust and the Advisory Board of the British Film Institute. In the United States, he serves as a Charter Trustee of Phillips Academy Andover, a Trustee of the Colgate Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and was previously a member of the Harvard University Task Force on Academic Resources.

Sir Peter Gershon

Sir Peter is Chairman of National Grid, a non-executive Chairman of the Aircraft Carrier Alliance Management Board and a Trustee of The Sutton Trust. Peter is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and has had a varied career holding a number of senior positions across multiple industries. His previous appointments include Chief Executive of the Office of Government Commerce, Managing Director of Marconi Electronic Systems and a member of the UK Defence Academy Advisory Board, as well as a seven-year tenure as Chairman of Tate and Lyle plc. 

David Hall CBE

David is a trustee of the Sutton Trust and a governor of Swanlea School in Tower Hamlets. He is a member of the boards of Vestra wealth managers and of Ricardo plc, and an advisory director of Campbell Lutyens. David was a member of the executive committee of the Boston Consulting Group and chairman of BCG’s ten worldwide practice groups. He was the founder-leader of the financial services practice of BCG. David was chairman of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) from 2006 to 2012 and is a former non-executive director of C. Hoare & Co. He was awarded CBE for services to financial services, for his chairmanship of the FSCS.

Lucy Heller

Lucy is Chief Executive of Ark. Lucy joined Ark in 2004 from TSL Education, a subsidiary of News International, where she was joint Managing Director. Her previous roles include General Manager of The Observer and Executive Chairman at Verso, a trade and academic publisher. She has worked for many years with a number of charitable and voluntary organisations including the Marshall Commission, Community Links and the Bush Theatre. She is currently a trustee of the Standard Life Foundation.

Nat Sloane CBE

Nat Sloane is a Trustee of Impetus, having been the co-founder of Impetus Trust and a successful entrepreneur, venture capitalist, management consultant and social investor. Prior to Impetus, Nat was a partner in Accenture, where he also chaired their UK charitable foundation, and was vice chairman of Crime Concern. He is currently the England Committee Chair of the Big Lottery Fund, an independent member of the Bridges Social Enterprise Fund investment Committee and a member of the Social Finance Social Impact Advisory Board. Nat has established three private businesses in the UK and the US.

Hanneke Smits

Hanneke Smits is the CEO of Newton Investment Management, a role which she assumed in August 2016. Hanneke previously served as a member of the Executive Committee at private equity firm Adams Street Partners from 2001 to 2014, and was its Chief Investment Officer from 2008 to 2014. She joined Adams Street in 1997 to successfully launch its presence in Europe and Asia, and to build out its global investment capabilities. In addition, she was an investment manager at Pantheon Ventures, and worked for Philips China Hong Kong Group. Hanneke is a member of the Investment Association’s board; she serves as Chair of Impetus. Hanneke is co-founder, and former Chair, of Level 20, a not-for-profit organisation set up in 2015 to inspire women to join and succeed in the private equity industry. Originally from the Netherlands, she has a BBA from Nijenrode University and a MBA from the London Business School.